Anne-Katrin Spiess

FOUR ELEMENTS, 2000

Elements / Red Soil
Utah
2000

“My original intention for this project was to document and study the natural elements of a remote area in the Canyonlands of Utah by photographing them inside clear containers which functioned as framing devices. During my explorations I encountered an inordinate amount of discarded industrially manufactured objects such as beer bottles, cans, etc. I felt it was necessary to document the dichotomy of man and nature and in doing so began what would become a series of “Trash Collection Projects”.

Later on, on a splendid stretch of desert highway 191 in Utah I noticed large amounts of litter on both sides of the road. I decided to “Adopt a Highway” and cleaned up the stretch between mile markers 176 and 177. I photographed every single object I picked up.”

http://www.annekatrin.info/environment.html?figures=4

Leave a Reply

